What do we mean by the term WISDOM TEETH?

Wisdom teeth (Dents de sagesse)  plural for wisdom tooth, is basically the set of teeth that erupts in the age of wisdom that is between 17 and 25 .
In other words they are the third molars, located distally from the 2nd molar.
In some cases they may erupt and in others they don’t. There normally should be one wisdom tooth in each quadrant of the mouth which makes it a total of four wisdom teeth, but it is possible to have fewer or more.
When there is limited space in the jaw, it can be painful and annoying for some.
Wisdom teeth commonly affect other teeth as they develop, becoming impacted or “coming in sideways.” They are often extracted when this occurs.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *